Skip to content
Vector Tribune
Security news, verified and fast
Kioxia GP Drive Tops 20 Million IOPS With New PCIe 6.0 Flash Tech
AI

Kioxia GP Drive Tops 20 Million IOPS With New PCIe 6.0 Flash Tech

Kioxia’s upgraded GP series exceeds 20 million random-read IOPS, aiming to challenge DRAM in AI infrastructure with third-generation XL-FLASH memory.

Key points

  • The new drive doubles the speed of the August 2026 GP1 model, reaching over 20 million IOPS.
  • Third-generation XL-FLASH uses shorter wiring and more planes to boost read and write efficiency.
  • Kioxia also unveiled the LD4 QLC drive with capacities up to 30.72 TB for hyperscalers.

Kioxia has announced an upgraded edition of its GP series solid-state drive that exceeds 20 million random-read input/output operations per second (IOPS) when handling 512-byte data blocks. According to a report by TechRadar, this new model roughly doubles the performance of the GP1 version unveiled in August 2026, which delivered about 10 million IOPS.

The risk

The primary operational shift involves Kioxia’s strategy to challenge dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) in artificial intelligence markets by offering flash storage that approaches memory-class speeds. The company states its XL-FLASH technology is designed to deliver higher operation rates and lower power per operation than conventional SSDs. However, the source material notes that energy used by each operation is expected to keep climbing despite efficiency gains.

Who is exposed

This technology targets AI infrastructure providers and GPU-centric workloads. The first-generation GP1 was a PCIe 6.0 NVMe 2.2 drive meant for GPUs to reach storage directly, featuring MLC cells storing two bits and read latency below five microseconds. The upgraded model relies on third-generation XL-FLASH memory, which delivers three times the reading speed and roughly 150 percent higher writing speed than the previous generation.

Cost and compliance

Kioxia has not disclosed the endurance rating for the upgraded model or confirmed whether it retains the PCIe 6.0 interface, though it is expected to follow its predecessor’s path. The original GP1 had an endurance rating of up to 50 drives writes per day (DWPD). The company also exhibited the LD4, a QLC drive with one port using a four-lane PCIe 5 link, available in 15.36 TB and 30.72 TB capacities, with a design scalable to 122.88 TB for hyperscalers.

What should you do?

IT teams evaluating high-performance storage for AI workloads should assess whether flash storage meeting these IOPS thresholds can replace DRAM in specific use cases. Managers should verify interface compatibility and endurance ratings before deploying unannounced hardware specifications into production environments.

What to do and how to stay safe: Kioxia

  • Review current AI infrastructure storage bottlenecks to determine if PCIe 6.0 NVMe drives are required for your GPU workloads.
  • Verify that your server chassis and backplanes support the power delivery and thermal requirements of high-density flash storage.
  • Confirm vendor specifications for endurance and interface standards before integrating new drives into critical production clusters.
  • Monitor official announcements for confirmed endurance ratings and interface details of the upgraded GP model.

Step-by-step guide: AI Governance Explained: Building Rules for Autonomous Systems

General security guidance from the Vector Tribune newsroom. It is not confirmed advice from the organisations named in this story.

Frequently asked questions

What is the performance difference between the new Kioxia GP drive and the GP1?

The new drive exceeds 20 million random-read IOPS, roughly doubling the 10 million IOPS delivered by the GP1 model unveiled in August 2026.

Does Kioxia provide endurance ratings for the new GP drive?

No, Kioxia has not disclosed the endurance rating for the upgraded model, though the original GP1 was rated at up to 50 DWPD.

What capacities are available for the new LD4 drive?

The LD4 drive is available in 15.36 TB and 30.72 TB capacities, with a design that can scale to 122.88 TB for hyperscalers.

Sources

  1. TechRadar
KioxiaGP1XL-FLASHPCIe 6.0LD4

Related stories